Daniel 9:24: Christ Will Make an End of Israel’s Sin

 003

 

Daniel 9:24

24 “Seventy weeks have been decreed for your people and your holy city, to finish the transgression, to make an end of sin, to make atonement for iniquity, to bring in everlasting righteousness, to seal up vision and prophecy, and to anoint the most holy place.  NASB

 

In this second point of promise, “to make an end of sin,” the focus is on the fact that Israel’s sins will be taken away and their hearts will be made clean.  “To make” suggests that someone makes it happen.  That someone is Christ.  In Hebrews 9:26 we read, “…He has been manifested to put away sin…”

Thus this prophecy points to what Paul said in Romans 11:26-27,

 “The Deliverer will come from Zion,
He will remove ungodliness from Jacob.”
27 “And this is My covenant with them,
When I take away their sins.”

 

Ezekiel 36:25-29 shows us in more detail the working of God on the people of Israel when He makes an end of their sins:

 Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your filthiness and from all your idols. 26 “Moreover, I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; and I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh. 27 “And I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will be careful to observe My ordinances. 28 “And you will live in the land that I gave to your forefathers; so you will be My people, and I will be your God. 29 “Moreover, I will save you from all your uncleanness; and I will call for the grain and multiply it, and I will not bring a famine on you.

 

Copyright 2014 by Stephen Nielsen

About Stephen Nielsen

I'm an author, a self publisher, and a painting contractor. I live in beautiful Minnesota, USA . Welcome to my blog site.
This entry was posted in Bible Passages on Prophecy, Daniel 9:24, Prophecy Topics, Second Coming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Daniel 9:24: Christ Will Make an End of Israel’s Sin

  1. Pingback: Daniel 9:24: To Make Atonement for Iniquity | Studying Bible Prophecy

Leave a Reply

