God’s Promise of Righteousness (Daniel 9:24): A Direct Response to Daniel’s Prayer

95210022

 

I have been blogging about six promises made to Israel as a direct result of the seventy weeks (of years) according to the determined purpose of God.

 

 Daniel 9:24
Seventy weeks have been decreed for your people and your holy city, to finish the transgression, to make an end of sin, to make atonement for iniquity, to bring in everlasting righteousness, to seal up vision and prophecy, and to anoint the most holy place.  NASB

 

In this fourth point, to bring in everlasting righteousness, falling in line after the first three promises of God’s atonement and cleansing is God’s promise of righteousness.  Since Daniel had just prayed (in verse 7), “ Lord, righteousness belongs to You, but to us shame of face,” we may see this promise as a direct response to his prayer, in which God says back to him, “I have heard your cry of humility and your praise of My righteousness. Soon, when I come, I will bring to you My everlasting righteousness.”

This promise, of course, is in reference to God’s 1000 year reign of righteousness on the earth (Rev. 20:1-9)—but of course it also continues for eternity.  It will be centered in Jerusalem but will extend to the entire world, bringing all (especially to those who believe in Him) peace and rest.  Here is Isaiah’s description of this reign:

 

Isaiah 32:16-18
Then justice will dwell in the wilderness,
And righteousness will abide in the fertile field.
17 And the work of righteousness will be peace,
And the service of righteousness, quietness and confidence forever.
18 Then my people will live in a peaceful habitation,
And in secure dwellings and in undisturbed resting places;

 

The center figure in this reign of righteousness is God’s Son, our resurrected Lord.  He will be the King and the righteous Judge.  In Isaiah 11:4-5 we read of Him:

 

But with righteousness He will judge the poor,
And decide with fairness for the afflicted of the earth;
And He will strike the earth with the rod of His mouth,
And with the breath of His lips He will slay the wicked.
5 Also righteousness will be the belt about His loins,
And faithfulness the belt about His waist.

 

Here also is Jeremiah’s portrayal of Him, in Jeremiah 23:5-6:

 

“Behold, the days are coming,” declares the Lord,
“When I shall raise up for David a righteous Branch;
And He will reign as king and act wisely
And do justice and righteousness in the land.
6 “In His days Judah will be saved,
And Israel will dwell securely;
And this is His name by which He will be called,
‘The Lord our righteousness.’

 

I love that! Israel who has so long rejected Him will then call Him The Lord our righteousness!  In Ezekiel 36:16-25, Ezekiel gives us a picture of how God restores Israel and brings them His righteousness.

 

Ezekiel 36:16-26
Then the word of the Lord came to me saying, 17 “Son of man, when the house of Israel was living in their own land, they defiled it by their ways and their deeds; their way before Me was like the uncleanness of a woman in her impurity. 18 “Therefore, I poured out My wrath on them for the blood which they had shed on the land, because they had defiled it with their idols. 19 “Also I scattered them among the nations, and they were dispersed throughout the lands. According to their ways and their deeds I judged them. 20 “When they came to the nations where they went, they profaned My holy name, because it was said of them, ‘These are the people of the Lord; yet they have come out of His land.’ 21 “But I had concern for My holy name, which the house of Israel had profaned among the nations where they went.

 22 “Therefore, say to the house of Israel, ‘Thus says the Lord God,” It is not for your sake, O house of Israel, that I am about to act, but for My holy name, which you have profaned among the nations where you went. 23 “And I will vindicate the holiness of My great name which has been profaned among the nations, which you have profaned in their midst. Then the nations will know that I am the Lord,” declares the Lord God, “when I prove Myself holy among you in their sight. 24 “For I will take you from the nations, gather you from all the lands, and bring you into your own land. 25 “Then I will sprinkle clean water on you, and you will be clean; I will cleanse you from all your filthiness and from all your idols. 26 “Moreover, I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit within you; and I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.

 

So we see that Israel will be made new and holy, not for her sake but for His Holy Name’s sake.  He will be hallowed in them.  He will reign in holiness and righteousness through them, but for His own names sake.  And they will declare to the world that He is “The Lord our righteousness.”

 

About Stephen Nielsen

I'm an author, a self publisher, and a painting contractor. I live in beautiful Minnesota, USA . Welcome to my blog site.
This entry was posted in Bible Passages on Prophecy, Daniel 9:24, Prophecy Topics, Second Coming and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s Promise of Righteousness (Daniel 9:24): A Direct Response to Daniel’s Prayer

  1. Eliza says:

    It is so much better when we just believe and trust what the Bible says rather than twisting it to meet our preconceived doctrines that have nothing to do with the truth. Thank you for being a faithful witness to the truth. God bless you:)
    http://holdingforthhisword.wordpress.com/2014/02/14/the-grid/

  2. Thank you for your encouragement.

Leave a Reply

