Report from Jordan, Day #1: Why I came to Amman. Why this country matters.

Joel writes, “Aside from Israel, no other country is actually mentioned more often in the Bible than Jordan (via such ancient names as Ammon, Moab, Edom, and so forth). It was here that Moses brought the people of Israel and died on Mount Nebo. It was here that Joshua and the children of Israel miraculously crossed the Red Sea into the Promised Land. It was here that the prophet Elijah was born and was taken up to heaven in a chariot of fire. It was here that the mantle of prophetic leadership passed to Elisha. It was here that John the Baptist lived and ministered, “beyond the Jordan” (John 1:28). It was here that John baptized our Lord Jesus Christ in the Jordan River.”

Joel C. Rosenberg's Blog

Jordan's Queen Rania (left), King Abdullah II (in the suit), Pope Benedict, and Prince Ghazi (right) touring Jordan in May 2010. Jordan’s Queen Rania (left), King Abdullah II (in the suit), Pope Benedict, and Prince Ghazi (right) touring Jordan in May 2010.

Meeting with HRH Prince Ghazi bin Muhammad in Amman on April 30, 2014. Meeting with HRH Prince Ghazi bin Muhammad in Amman on April 30, 2014.

(Amman, Jordan) — On Wednesday, I arrived here in Amman. Day by day I hope to update you on this blog what I’m learning, but let me begin by explaining why I came.

  1. First and foremost, I am deeply concerned about the future of war and peace in the Middle East, and I’m intrigued by the efforts that Jordan’s King Abdullah II has taken to promote peace and reject extremism. The fact is Jordan is our most faithful friend and ally in the Arab world. More precisely, the King has emerged as the leading Reformer in the Arab and Muslim world. I mentioned him briefly in my 2009 book, Inside The Revolution, but since then I’ve realized…

View original post 1,499 more words

About Stephen Nielsen

I'm an author, a self publisher, and a painting contractor. I live in beautiful Minnesota, USA . Welcome to my blog site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

