The Rapture: 4 Possible Reason Why People Don’t Believe In the Rapture

Rapture picture

 

I can’t understand why so many people don’t believe in the rapture.  The teaching is so clear from scripture.  But they must have some reasons.  I have come up with four possible reasons why many do not believe in the rapture.

 

1. They are reacting against zealous and overzealous rapture promoters

When Hal Lindsey’s book came out, The Late Great Planet Earth, a lot of people got on his band wagon and were expecting the rapture to happen very soon.  I don’t really think Mr. Lindsey set any date for the Rapture, but a lot of people seem to think he did.  Tim LaHaye and his Left behind books (and movies) also created a big stir.  And there are other rapture zealots that are on TV once in a while, like Jack Van Impi.  I have to admit he is a little wild and crazy—but I really don’t see any errors in his theology.  Yes, these people are zealous about the rapture, but they have not set any dates.  They are just saying that the rapture will happen soon—which is true from scripture. Just because these are a bit excited about what they teach, is that a reason to shut them off and perhaps say they are hypocrites?

I know, we all know that there are some who have set dates for the rapture.  There are some quacks out there and we all will have to discern who they are.  But nonetheless, this is no reason to toss out this important teaching of the church.

 

2. They are not taking the Bible literally

If you don’t interpret the Bible literally, if you are always looking for an allegorical or spiritual meaning of scripture, you may be missing the obvious truth of scripture.  Most of scripture is meant to be taken literally.

 

3. Unbelief

If you are not a true Christian, of course you won’t believe in the rapture, because it is just too hard to believe.  In fact, you can’t believe it because God has not put His spirit in you to empower you to believe (1 Cor. 2:14).

I can understand why a non-Christian does not believe in the rapture, but if you say you are a Christian yet you don’t believe in the rapture, I don’t understand that.  I know that the rapture will be a huge miracle, but a miracle is a miracle. God can do miracles! Just as He created this earth and the entire universe, He can and will resurrect all dead church believers and then catch up (rapture) all living believers in a moment (1 Cor. 15:52).  Yes, it will be a miracle! Believe it!

 

4. Most Churches are mysteriously silent about the rapture

Even if many in the church say they believe in the rapture, it seems as if they don’t believe it, since they don’t talk about it.  Maybe you are saying that you don’t believe in it because nobody else seems to believe it.  Well, I urge you to take a stand and believe what the Bible teaches, not what people around you seem to believe.

Here is the clear teaching regarding the rapture:

1 Thessalonians 4:15-18

For this we say to you by the word of the Lord, that we who are alive, and remain until the coming of the Lord, shall not precede those who have fallen asleep. 16 For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trumpet of God; and the dead in Christ shall rise first. 17 Then we who are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air, and thus we shall always be with the Lord. 18 Therefore comfort one another with these words.

NASB

 

 

About Stephen Nielsen

I'm an author, a self publisher, and a painting contractor. I live in beautiful Minnesota, USA . Welcome to my blog site.
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians 15:51-52, 1 Thessalonians 4:15-17, Bible Passages on Prophecy, Prophecy Topics, Rapture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Rapture: 4 Possible Reason Why People Don’t Believe In the Rapture

  1. preacherwin says:

    Alright, brother, you asked, how about a response…or perhaps a 5th reason…

    Because a premillennial rapture is not what I believe that Paul is speaking about (in a literal sense) in 1 Thessalonians 4:15-18.

    Here’s my argument in brief…If you define the rapture as Christ coming with a shout and a trumpet and those who are dead in Christ being resurrected and those still alive in Christ being transformed and us meeting him in the air to then descend with him in judgment, then, Amen, Hallelujah, we are on the same page.

    But as I read this text, there is nothing secret about this event. Trumpets and shouts are not quiet, but attract attention so that everyone knows exactly what has happened. My objection then is to how the premillenial (largely dispensational) Christian uses the term.

    Fair? We are agreed, the term “rapture” comes from the Latin translation of 1 Thessalonians 4:17 and the Greek word “arpazo” which means to “rapidly seize”, so no problem with the word, just the way the word is used often today.

    Blessings, brother,

    Win

    • Thanks for your comment. I will need a little time to get back to you on this.

    • Okay, here’s my reply. I hope this isn’t too long.
      I confess I am really uniformed about other theologies. I have never been interested in studying different views on things. I grew up as a Baptist—dispensationalist and that is kind of where I have stayed. I believe like Tim LaHaye, Hal Lindsey, Thomas Ice, Mark Hitchcock, and my favorite, Dwight Pentecost. I have read some who believe in Covenant theology, and Preterism, but I can’t buy it. It doesn’t seem true to me. Anyway, we tend to believe the way we were first taught.
      I believe in a pretribulation rapture because I believe the tribulation is meant not for the church but was decreed for the nation of Israel—to bring them to salvation (Dan. 9:24). So 1) the church will be taken to heaven in the rapture and glorified; 2) a 7 year tribulation will occur in which many will be saved out of it, including many Jews; 3) Christ (along with the angels and the glorified Church) will come to the earth, He will slay all unbelievers and then will reign on the earth for a thousand years.
      So I believe there are two phases to His coming. In the first phase of His coming He will come just to get all church believers: first to resurrect the dead in Christ, then also to take up, or to “seize” those who are alive. The second phase of His coming is after the tribulation. He will come to judge the world and to set up His kingdom and will reign on this earth for one thousand years. These events are clearly taught to us in chronological order in the book of Revelation.
      I am now in the process of studying these things so as to get it more clearly in my head. I just finished studying through Daniel 9:24-27, which is basic for a prophecy study. I wanted to get the big picture of things, so I have for some time now been studying the kingdom of God on earth throughout history and into the future. I am just about done with that study. My next study will be to look at all the passages referring to Christ’s coming, and I will try to figure out if they are talking about His first phase (the rapture), or the second phase ( His coming to earth to set up His kingdom. In my next chapter (yes, this will be a book) I intend to show why a pre-trib rapture is the correct view; and I will compare my view to other views.
      As for the shout and the trumpet, I’m not sure everyone will hear it. Non-believers may hear a shout and a trumpet and wonder what it is. But that won’t really matter, the shout and trumpet is meant to signal the believers to come up.
      I believe there will be a judgment for all believers in heaven immediately after the rapture. It will be a judgment according to our works, taught in 1 Cor. 3:9-15—the bema seat. This is also referred to in Rev. 22:12: “And behold I am coming quickly, and My reward is with me. To give to everyone according to his work.
      Then the final judgment will not be until after the millennium—the judgment on unbelievers, in which they will be cast into the lake of fire forever.
      Anyway, I do think we have a lot of differences in our beliefs. I’m not sure what you believe, but maybe you have a little of an idea of how I believe now. If you don’t, just read any book by Tim LaHaye or Hal Lindsey or any others in that camp and you will have it.

  2. Anonymous says:

    You know, a lot of people who believe that there is no pre-trib rapture seems to always forget about the bema seat. basically it’s like a seven year honeymoon for Christ and his church.

    • That’s true. Unfortunately, many people are mixed up on this. But I do believe there will be the bema seat judgment for believers. I wonder how long that will last. I hope not too long.

  3. Nani says:

    For me it is a 5th reason – I believe teaching of PRE TRIB rapture is dangerous. I dont say this combatively, I say it sincerely. When I read my KJ version of the bible it say that we believers will be protected from the trial. It does not say we will be harvested by Jesus first and then he will come back for a third harvest for the last minute converts. I believe, based on scripture many of us will not be killed but protected because someone has to be here to tell unbelievers what is really happening and share the good news of faith in Jesus as salvation. Then the dead in Christ will be caught up first, then those of us he live through the trials and tribulation. Teaching pre-trib rapture to me number one – when it doesn’t happen Many believers will turn away from Christ because they will believe they were lied to or misinformed. Two – when unbelievers dont see it happening they will give no credibility to believers who remain Three – people who believe in a PRE TRIB wont think about being prepare to share the Good News, they just think “well I dont have to worry about it, so I just have to believe now, I dont need to prepare because I wont be here.” Now that attitude
    For myself, I choose to 1 – See for my self that many of the Rapture promoters are not working on behalf of Jesus, just there own pocketbooks 2- Take the Bible Literally as it says not some vague interpretation 3- I am a true believer and have zero doubt that since we are prepared with enough knowledge of Scripture that even if all the bibles I have stored to share with unbelievers after the Tribulation starts get all burned up – I can still share the good news. 4- Because although many churches dont want to scare people about the scary stuff like Revelations saying – we are all going to get Raptured early in Revelations at 3:10 so dont worry – I choose to have meaning discussions with doctors in Theology and Christian Ministeries who have studied the matter for years, 4 – and 5 taken it in deep prayer and got the answer from Revelations 3, 12 and 14 the Lesser Tribulation – all saints – the Greater Tribulation – all untested saints, or saints without oil, plus Israel, who is positioned for salvation. Wrath – for the unrepentant wicked of the earth. Believers present during the Greater Tribulation are protected in the wilderness from the wrath. (Rev 12) and I choose to be prepared. After all, if I am correct I will be here for those that believe like you. And the Good News is If you are correct in your interpretation and I am wrong – I believe in the faith of Jesus Christ so I will be spared. But if I am right and you are wrong all I can pray is that you will remember me and this post and not give up faith in Jesus so we can meet in the spirit in the Kingdom of God in Heaven. Lets face it if we both believe in the faith of Jesus Christ then we are going to be living together for an eternity we might as well start to get along now. Love to my Neighbors.

    • I take my teaching of the pre trib rapture mainly from Daniel 9: 24-27. Here it says (in verse 24) that the 70 weeks, including the last week (or seven years), which is the 7 years of tribulation, is for “your people”, meaning Israel. If that is true then I take it that God is done with His program for the church and will resume His program for Israel (during the tribulation), which is meant to bring them to salvation. So, as you can see, for this to happen the church will have to be taken out of the way. No, the church will not go through the tribulation. We are His bride. The tribulation is not just trials, it is the wrath of God meant to punish unbelievers, but also meant to bring people to repentance. The church will not be a part of the tribulation. God has appoint 144,000 Jews as His evangelists and also angels to witness to people during that time. The church is never mentioned in Revelation during the tribulation years. That is because they are gone–raptured. I Thess. 4:15-18 makes clear this teaching.

  4. Anonymous says:

    My name is gift okereke,am from rivers state,nigeria.i believe in rapture and i pity for those who don’t believe.and i pray that GOD should open there eyes to see the truth,and believe

  5. Thank you brother, we do look forward to HIs coming and I pray it will be soon!

  6. pedro says:

    Dear Mr. Nielsen,
    I believe that by thinking and studying for herself Nina is getting closer to the truth of the entire bible. The dispensational doctrines like the pretrib rapture and the earthy millenial kingdom have a suspect history that deserves unflinching investigation. Spurgeon, for example, famously reported of dispensationalism, ‘It is a mercy that these absurdities are revealed one at a time, in order that we may be able to endure their stupidity without dying of amazement.”
    I respect your right to believe what you want but PLEASE pray that you’re not disseminating damnable heresies to the unwary truth seekers.

    • I understand why Spurgeon would say those things, for the rapture and dispensationalism, along with premillennialism had not been taught or heard of for over 1400 years, not since the about A D 200. However, just about the time that Spurgeon was an old man, Darby and the Plymouth Brethren brought back that earlier, correct teaching. We must hold tightly to the literal method of interpretation and therefore trust what the Bible says about the rapture. Why should we always look for deeper spiritual meanings (allegory) on things when the Bible is so clear. Yes, the bible is the inspired word of God. Every word is true and we dare not look for a more spiritual meaning.

Leave a Reply

