8 things I Prefer in a Blog Post

009

  1. Beautiful photos. Whether there is an article attached to it or not, I always enjoy a beautiful photo. I don’t even care if the photo goes along with the theme of the article. Sometimes a nature scene will go with anything.  I prefer nature scenes rather than of buildings and people, etc., but there are some exceptions: I enjoy photos of rare things, and ancient or historical things.
  2. Photos without writing on them. To me the look of the photo is ruined when there is writing on it—no matter how meaningful or truthful the message is. I would rather see the message or verse under the photo, so I can see the entire photo just as it would look for real.
  3. Short articles. If an article is over 500 words I may not bother to read it. I don’t always have the time—unless it is from someone that I know always writes good articles and will keep me interested.
  4. Blog posts with catchy, thoughtful titles. If a post has a title that makes me stop and think, I will usually read the article. If the title is interesting, usually the post will also be interesting.
  5. Short Poems that make me think and that teach truth. I especially enjoy poems that go along with a photo, in which they cleverly use a photo as a teaching tool or as a visual aid.
  6. Blog posts that tell personal stories, even the events of their day or week, with photos. Post’s like this are a great away to get to know people.
  7. Blog post that are heartfelt—how they have overcome some hardship. Reading these kinds of blogs may bring sadness at first, but they may also bring God’s grace. Of course, I especially enjoy reading the articles that I can identify with.
  8. Blog posts that are obviously written with thoughtful study and research. This is the kind of post I try to write, and so I appreciate it in others.

I thought of another point.

9.  I prefer not more than one blog post per person per day.  If a person I am following has three or four posts in my reader for the day, I don’t like that!

 

 

About Stephen Nielsen

I'm an author, a self publisher, and a painting contractor. I live in beautiful Minnesota, USA . Welcome to my blog site.
This entry was posted in Blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 8 things I Prefer in a Blog Post

  1. Lee says:

    Thanks for share some food for thought. I agree even if I don’t always do those things. 🙂

  2. Completely agree with you! Particularly on 3 & 4……

  3. Heidi Viars says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I agree and needed to be reminded 🙂

Leave a Reply

