Jesus’ Promise To Believers: “I Am Coming Quickly”

002

 

In the last chapter of the bible (in verses 7, 12, and 20), Jesus tells us three times, “I am coming quickly.”

“And behold, I am coming quickly. Blessed is he who heeds the words of the prophecy of this book.”

12 “Behold, I am coming quickly, and My reward is with Me, to render to every man according to what he has done.

20 He who testifies to these things says, “Yes, I am coming quickly.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus. (Bold for emphasis)

 

And because He has been speaking (in chapters 21 and 22) of the believers’ eternal home—of the New Jerusalem, the river of life, and of seeing His face, etc.—I think, He is speaking to the church and not to the unbeliever. Thus His words are intended to be words of hope and encouragement to us. They are indeed words of promise. He is saying, I will see you very soon, I promise!

Yes, He wants us to be encouraged and thinking of Him and the glories He will bring us. And if He is addressing the church here, then the three references to His coming I think are mainly references to the first phase of His coming in rapture.  Thus we ought to be looking forward to that day and be comforted in His soon coming.

 

Lord, come quickly

And let no duty,

Let no hobby or craft,

Let no goal or achievement,

Let no earthly desire

Keep me from desiring You

Now at this very moment.

Let me at any moment of work or play

Be willing to drop what I am doing

In order to see You and be with You.

Let everything I do be as rubbish

Compared to knowing You.

About Stephen Nielsen

I'm an author, a self publisher, and a painting contractor. I live in beautiful Minnesota, USA . Welcome to my blog site.
This entry was posted in Bible Passages on Prophecy, Making Ourselves Ready, Prophecy Topics, Rapture, Revelation 22:7-20 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Jesus’ Promise To Believers: “I Am Coming Quickly”

  1. Maranatha! Even so, come, Lord Jesus!

    • Amen. But I was also thinking that sometimes I get so caught up in what I am doing that I may not always be saying or thinking,”Jesus come quickly.” It is a good way to check ourselves to see if we are on track with Him. That is, if we don’t want to say to Him come quickly, come now, then we are not abiding as we should be.

Leave a Reply

